top of page

Meet Leo Mahoney


“My first time on the BAVUG site I was able to get a comprehensive list of Avid editors in Massachusetts and it was awesome! There were so many experts to call upon when I was stuck. I was never turned away when I called strangers seeking Avid help. It’s a wonderful community of editors who all have the same goal, being as proficient as possible using this epic editing platform. Thank you to all of you who have helped me over the years. The Boston Avid User Group in an invaluable resource.

I have been working in the television industry for 40 years. My original interests were in production, so like many before me, I moved to New York to work for one of the big three networks (Fox wasn’t a player at the time). But alas, my big network break never came. I did land an entry job in master control for Cablevision Systems on Long Island. From there I moved up through ranks and landed in the CMX linear editing suite with five Sony 1 inch, BVH-1100’s, a Chyron and all of the broadcast bells and whistles that an edit suite could hold- that was it, I was hooked on editing.

In 2003 I bought my first Avid system. Going with Avid was a natural choice for me because I was use to editing using the “source and record” method. For me, Media Composer felt more like editing on a CMX or Sony system.

On Long Island I had many resources to tap from other Avid editors in the area. This was important because I am self-taught on Avid and was often in need of assistance. Things changed when I moved back to the Berkshires. There were plenty of times when I needed Avid help, but there are no Avid editors in my area. Enter BAVUG! My first time on the BAVUG site I was able to get a comprehensive list of Avid editors in Massachusetts and it was awesome! There were so many experts to call upon when I was stuck. I was never turned away when I called strangers seeking Avid help. It’s a wonderful community of editors who all have the same goal, being as proficient as possible using this epic editing platform. Thank you to all of you who have helped me over the years. The Boston Avid User Group in an invaluable resource.

You can learn more about Leo and see other samples of his work at http://mallardvideo.com

bottom of page